If only everyone could be
as happy as they are . . .

Darcy and Elizabeth are as much in love as ever—even more so as their relationship matures. Their passion inspires everyone around them, and as winter turns to spring, romance finds nearly everyone. 

Confirmed bachelor Richard Fitzwilliam sets his sights on a seemingly unattainable, beautiful widow, Georgiana Darcy learns to flirt outrageously, the flighty Kitty Bennet develops her first crush, and Caroline Bingley meets her match. 

But the path of true love never does run smooth, and Elizabeth and Darcy are kept busy navigating their friends and loved ones through the inevitable separations, misunderstandings, misgivings and lovers’ quarrels.


In a departure from the leisurely study of the Darcys in the first three novels, this installment to the Saga covers an entire year.

The action begins immediately where My Dearest Mr. Darcy left off, just prior to Christmas of 1817. Among the events: Christmas and the Cole’s masque with dramatic encounters for several people, including Caroline Bingley; a murder; the christening of Alexander Darcy; Georgiana and Lizzy are presented at the Court of Saint James to the Prince Regent; another season in London is enjoyed with Georgiana’s official debut; Richard falls in love, but the road is a rocky one; a ball at Darcy House with significant introductions; Kitty Bennet’s misfortunes in romance; the history of Wickham and Darcy; an extensive tour of The Peaks; a visit to Matlock Bath with surprising consequences; three weddings; and so much more!

Naturally Lizzy and Darcy with their growing infant are the stars, but the family members play a part. The novel ends just after the new year turning, it now 1819.

Published October 2010
ISBN 1402236999
Sourcebooks Landmark

Approximately the initial quarter of this version was originally self-published as part of The Darcys at Year's End. Those chapters were rewritten and edited. The rest of the novel is completely new material never before seen in any format.